Days of Wine and (Candied Dried) Roses

Unique is a clothing store in NYC – at least it was when I was there. The 2009 Anthos from Matteo Correggia from the Piedmont Region of Italy does justice to the word. When I popped it open and gave it a taste, I thought what do I have here? It’s floral nose and medicinal herbs worked for me and then the sugar-coated rose petals made themselves apparent. A light fruity style that many might compare to a Beaujolais, I will forgo such comparisons because it is… well, unique! And delicious. Worth hunting down if you are a geek like me that can fall easily for a “feminine” herbaceous wine that unites fruit and earth in a way that does my heart (nose, tongue and tummy) good. The grape variety is Brachetto. Oh, and I bought it at Bi-rite Market when they had their wine blitz, regular price $16.99 but I got 20% mixed case discount. A steal for not just a drink but an experience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

