Zen and the Art of Swirling Sediment

This evening the fun in the glass was Chateau Berliquet 2000 Saint-Emilion Grand Cru. Now about expectations: it was a Right Bank Bordeaux and so dominated by Merlot but from a heralded vintage. I had hoped for “wow” but for the price (about $50) found it pleasing but unimpressive. And I snatched it from my cellar a tad too early. Ok, mea culpa, but what did I learn?

The fruit there is surprising but saved by herbal notes, a tinge of dusty cocoa and relatively smooth tannins after it opened up a bit.  Yes, it has some finesse but a little too much jammy fruit and too modern in style for my taste and so would not buy again. It was a recommendation from a sales clerk who obviously did not know me very well.

Had it with my steak, mushrooms and sunchokes meal but wish I had it with wild boar or quail. Bring on the game with this wine.

Naturally, there was the real game at the end:  what to do with all that chunky red stuff in the glass?  My husband taught me the slow swirl and sip. It’s really something of a meditation. In the end, you also feel triumphant for not letting the sediment get the best of you.

So wait a little on this 2000 Bordeaux and then give me a call. Since the wine is on you, I’ll make you a dinner to pair with it that will make your heart sing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zen and the Art of Swirling Sediment

  1. bench jacke herren winter
    This can be something I need to do more research into, appreciate the posting.

Leave a Reply

